动态表 (Dynamic Table)

SQL 和关系代数在设计时并未考虑流数据。因此,在关系代数(和 SQL)之间几乎没有概念上的差异。

本文会讨论这种差异,并介绍 Flink 如何在无界数据集上实现与数据库引擎在有界数据上的处理具有相同的语义。

DataStream 上的关系查询

下表比较了传统的关系代数和流处理与输入数据、执行和输出结果的关系。

关系代数 / SQL 流处理
关系(或表)是有界(多)元组集合。 流是一个无限元组序列。
对批数据(例如关系数据库中的表)执行的查询可以访问完整的输入数据。 流式查询在启动时不能访问所有数据,必须“等待”数据流入。
批处理查询在产生固定大小的结果后终止。 流查询不断地根据接收到的记录更新其结果,并且始终不会结束。

尽管存在这些差异,但是使用关系查询和 SQL 处理流并不是不可能的。高级关系数据库系统提供了一个称为 物化视图(Materialized Views) 的特性。物化视图被定义为一条 SQL 查询,就像常规的虚拟视图一样。与虚拟视图相反,物化视图缓存查询的结果,因此在访问视图时不需要对查询进行计算。缓存的一个常见难题是防止缓存为过期的结果提供服务。当其定义查询的基表被修改时,物化视图将过期。 即时视图维护(Eager View Maintenance) 是一种一旦更新了物化视图的基表就立即更新视图的技术。

如果我们考虑以下问题,那么即时视图维护和流上的SQL查询之间的联系就会变得显而易见:

  • 数据库表是 INSERTUPDATEDELETE DML 语句的 stream 的结果,通常称为 changelog stream
  • 物化视图被定义为一条 SQL 查询。为了更新视图,查询不断地处理视图的基本关系的changelog 流。
  • 物化视图是流式 SQL 查询的结果。

了解了这些要点之后,我们将在下一节中介绍 动态表(Dynamic tables) 的概念。

动态表 & 连续查询(Continuous Query)

动态表 是 Flink 的支持流数据的 Table API 和 SQL 的核心概念。与表示批处理数据的静态表不同,动态表是随时间变化的。可以像查询静态批处理表一样查询它们。查询动态表将生成一个 连续查询 。一个连续查询永远不会终止,结果会生成一个动态表。查询不断更新其(动态)结果表,以反映其(动态)输入表上的更改。本质上,动态表上的连续查询非常类似于定义物化视图的查询。

需要注意的是,连续查询的结果在语义上总是等价于以批处理模式在输入表快照上执行的相同查询的结果。

下图显示了流、动态表和连续查询之间的关系:

Dynamic tables
  1. 将流转换为动态表。
  2. 在动态表上计算一个连续查询,生成一个新的动态表。
  3. 生成的动态表被转换回流。

注意: 动态表首先是一个逻辑概念。在查询执行期间不一定(完全)物化动态表。

在下面,我们将解释动态表和连续查询的概念,并使用具有以下模式的单击事件流:

[
  user:  VARCHAR,   // 用户名
  cTime: TIMESTAMP, // 访问 URL 的时间
  url:   VARCHAR    // 用户访问的 URL
]

在流上定义表

为了使用关系查询处理流,必须将其转换成 Table。从概念上讲,流的每条记录都被解释为对结果表的 INSERT 操作。本质上我们正在从一个 INSERT-only 的 changelog 流构建表。

下图显示了单击事件流(左侧)如何转换为表(右侧)。当插入更多的单击流记录时,结果表将不断增长。

Append mode

注意: 在流上定义的表在内部没有物化。

连续查询


在动态表上计算一个连续查询,并生成一个新的动态表。与批处理查询不同,连续查询从不终止,并根据其输入表上的更新更新其结果表。在任何时候,连续查询的结果在语义上与以批处理模式在输入表快照上执行的相同查询的结果相同。

在接下来的代码中,我们将展示 clicks 表上的两个示例查询,这个表是在点击事件流上定义的。

第一个查询是一个简单的 GROUP-BY COUNT 聚合查询。它基于 user 字段对 clicks 表进行分组,并统计访问的 URL 的数量。下面的图显示了当 clicks 表被附加的行更新时,查询是如何被评估的。

Continuous Non-Windowed Query

当查询开始,clicks 表(左侧)是空的。当第一行数据被插入到 clicks 表时,查询开始计算结果表。第一行数据 [Mary,./home] 插入后,结果表(右侧,上部)由一行 [Mary, 1] 组成。当第二行 [Bob, ./cart] 插入到 clicks 表时,查询会更新结果表并插入了一行新数据 [Bob, 1]。第三行 [Mary, ./prod?id=1] 将产生已计算的结果行的更新,[Mary, 1] 更新成 [Mary, 2]。最后,当第四行数据加入 clicks 表时,查询将第三行 [Liz, 1] 插入到结果表中。

第二条查询与第一条类似,但是除了用户属性之外,还将 clicks 分组至每小时滚动窗口中,然后计算 url 数量(基于时间的计算,例如基于特定时间属性的窗口,后面会讨论)。同样,该图显示了不同时间点的输入和输出,以可视化动态表的变化特性。

Continuous Group-Window Query

与前面一样,左边显示了输入表 clicks。查询每小时持续计算结果并更新结果表。clicks表包含四行带有时间戳(cTime)的数据,时间戳在 12:00:0012:59:59 之间。查询从这个输入计算出两个结果行(每个 user 一个),并将它们附加到结果表中。对于 13:00:0013:59:59 之间的下一个窗口,clicks 表包含三行,这将导致另外两行被追加到结果表。随着时间的推移,更多的行被添加到 click 中,结果表将被更新。

更新和追加查询

虽然这两个示例查询看起来非常相似(都计算分组计数聚合),但它们在一个重要方面不同:

  • 第一个查询更新先前输出的结果,即定义结果表的 changelog 流包含 INSERTUPDATE 操作。
  • 第二个查询只附加到结果表,即结果表的 changelog 流只包含 INSERT 操作。

一个查询是产生一个只追加的表还是一个更新的表有一些含义:

  • 产生更新更改的查询通常必须维护更多的状态(请参阅以下部分)。
  • 将 append-only 的表转换为流与将已更新的表转换为流是不同的(参阅表到流的转换章节)。

查询限制

许多(但不是全部)语义上有效的查询可以作为流上的连续查询进行评估。有些查询代价太高而无法计算,这可能是由于它们需要维护的状态大小,也可能是由于计算更新代价太高。

  • 状态大小: 连续查询在无界流上计算,通常应该运行数周或数月。因此,连续查询处理的数据总量可能非常大。必须更新先前输出的结果的查询需要维护所有输出的行,以便能够更新它们。例如,第一个查询示例需要存储每个用户的 URL 计数,以便能够增加该计数并在输入表接收新行时发送新结果。如果只跟踪注册用户,则要维护的计数数量可能不会太高。但是,如果未注册的用户分配了一个惟一的用户名,那么要维护的计数数量将随着时间增长,并可能最终导致查询失败。
SELECT user, COUNT(url)
FROM clicks
GROUP BY user;
  • 计算更新: 有些查询需要重新计算和更新大量已输出的结果行,即使只添加或更新一条输入记录。显然,这样的查询不适合作为连续查询执行。下面的查询就是一个例子,它根据最后一次单击的时间为每个用户计算一个 RANK。一旦 click 表接收到一个新行,用户的 lastAction 就会更新,并必须计算一个新的排名。然而,由于两行不能具有相同的排名,所以所有较低排名的行也需要更新。
SELECT user, RANK() OVER (ORDER BY lastLogin)
FROM (
  SELECT user, MAX(cTime) AS lastAction FROM clicks GROUP BY user
);

查询配置章节讨论了控制连续查询执行的参数。一些参数可以用来在维持状态的大小和获得结果的准确性之间做取舍。

表到流的转换

动态表可以像普通数据库表一样通过 INSERTUPDATEDELETE 来不断修改。它可能是一个只有一行、不断更新的表,也可能是一个 insert-only 的表,没有 UPDATEDELETE 修改,或者介于两者之间的其他表。

在将动态表转换为流或将其写入外部系统时,需要对这些更改进行编码。Flink的 Table API 和 SQL 支持三种方式来编码一个动态表的变化:

  • Append-only 流: 仅通过 INSERT 操作修改的动态表可以通过输出插入的行转换为流。

  • Retract 流: retract 流包含两种类型的 message: add messagesretract messages 。通过将INSERT 操作编码为 add message、将 DELETE 操作编码为 retract message、将 UPDATE 操作编码为更新(先前)行的 retract message 和更新(新)行的 add message,将动态表转换为 retract 流。下图显示了将动态表转换为 retract 流的过程。

Dynamic tables



  • Upsert 流: upsert 流包含两种类型的 message: upsert messagesdelete messages。转换为 upsert 流的动态表需要(可能是组合的)唯一键。通过将 INSERTUPDATE 操作编码为 upsert message,将 DELETE 操作编码为 delete message ,将具有唯一键的动态表转换为流。消费流的算子需要知道唯一键的属性,以便正确地应用 message。与 retract 流的主要区别在于 UPDATE 操作是用单个 message 编码的,因此效率更高。下图显示了将动态表转换为 upsert 流的过程。
Dynamic tables



通用概念中讨论了将动态表转换为 DataStream 的 API。请注意,在将动态表转换为 DataStream 时,只支持 append 流和 retract 流。在 TableSources 和 TableSinks 章节讨论向外部系统输出动态表的 TableSink 接口。

Back to top

Dynamic Tables

SQL and the relational algebra have not been designed with streaming data in mind. As a consequence, there are few conceptual gaps between relational algebra (and SQL) and stream processing.

This page discusses these differences and explains how Flink can achieve the same semantics on unbounded data as a regular database engine on bounded data.

Relational Queries on Data Streams

The following table compares traditional relational algebra and stream processing with respect to input data, execution, and output results.

Relational Algebra / SQL Stream Processing
Relations (or tables) are bounded (multi-)sets of tuples. A stream is an infinite sequences of tuples.
A query that is executed on batch data (e.g., a table in a relational database) has access to the complete input data. A streaming query cannot access all data when is started and has to "wait" for data to be streamed in.
A batch query terminates after it produced a fixed sized result. A streaming query continuously updates its result based on the received records and never completes.

Despite these differences, processing streams with relational queries and SQL is not impossible. Advanced relational database systems offer a feature called Materialized Views. A materialized view is defined as a SQL query, just like a regular virtual view. In contrast to a virtual view, a materialized view caches the result of the query such that the query does not need to be evaluated when the view is accessed. A common challenge for caching is to prevent a cache from serving outdated results. A materialized view becomes outdated when the base tables of its definition query are modified. Eager View Maintenance is a technique to update materialized views and updates a materialized view as soon as its base tables are updated.

The connection between eager view maintenance and SQL queries on streams becomes obvious if we consider the following:

  • A database table is the result of a stream of INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE DML statements, often called changelog stream.
  • A materialized view is defined as a SQL query. In order to update the view, the query is continuously processes the changelog streams of the view’s base relations.
  • The materialized view is the result of the streaming SQL query.

With these points in mind, we introduce following concept of Dynamic tables in the next section.

Dynamic Tables & Continuous Queries

Dynamic tables are the core concept of Flink’s Table API and SQL support for streaming data. In contrast to the static tables that represent batch data, dynamic table are changing over time. They can be queried like static batch tables. Querying a dynamic table yields a Continuous Query. A continuous query never terminates and produces a dynamic table as result. The query continuously updates its (dynamic) result table to reflect the changes on its input (dynamic) table. Essentially, a continuous query on a dynamic table is very similar to the definition query of a materialized view.

It is important to note that the result of a continuous query is always semantically equivalent to the result of the same query being executed in batch mode on a snapshot of the input tables.

The following figure visualizes the relationship of streams, dynamic tables, and continuous queries:

Dynamic tables
  1. A stream is converted into a dynamic table.
  2. A continuous query is evaluated on the dynamic table yielding a new dynamic table.
  3. The resulting dynamic table is converted back into a stream.

Note: Dynamic tables are foremost a logical concept. Dynamic tables are not necessarily (fully) materialized during query execution.

In the following, we will explain the concepts of dynamic tables and continuous queries with a stream of click events that have the following schema:

[
  user:  VARCHAR,   // the name of the user
  cTime: TIMESTAMP, // the time when the URL was accessed
  url:   VARCHAR    // the URL that was accessed by the user
]

Defining a Table on a Stream

In order to process a stream with a relational query, it has to be converted into a Table. Conceptually, each record of the stream is interpreted as an INSERT modification on the resulting table. Essentially, we are building a table from an INSERT-only changelog stream.

The following figure visualizes how the stream of click event (left-hand side) is converted into a table (right-hand side). The resulting table is continuously growing as more records of the click stream are inserted.

Append mode

Note: A table which is defined on a stream is internally not materialized.

Continuous Queries


A continuous query is evaluated on a dynamic table and produces a new dynamic table as result. In contrast to a batch query, a continuous query never terminates and updates its result table according to the updates on its input tables. At any point in time, the result of a continuous query is semantically equivalent to the result of the same query being executed in batch mode on a snapshot of the input tables.

In the following we show two example queries on a clicks table that is defined on the stream of click events.

The first query is a simple GROUP-BY COUNT aggregation query. It groups the clicks table on the user field and counts the number of visited URLs. The following figure shows how the query is evaluated over time as the clicks table is updated with additional rows.

Continuous Non-Windowed Query

When the query is started, the clicks table (left-hand side) is empty. The query starts to compute the result table, when the first row is inserted into the clicks table. After the first row [Mary, ./home] was inserted, the result table (right-hand side, top) consists of a single row [Mary, 1]. When the second row [Bob, ./cart] is inserted into the clicks table, the query updates the result table and inserts a new row [Bob, 1]. The third row [Mary, ./prod?id=1] yields an update of an already computed result row such that [Mary, 1] is updated to [Mary, 2]. Finally, the query inserts a third row [Liz, 1] into the result table, when the fourth row is appended to the clicks table.

The second query is similar to the first one but groups the clicks table in addition to the user attribute also on an hourly tumbling window before it counts the number of URLs (time-based computations such as windows are based on special time attributes, which are discussed later.). Again, the figure shows the input and output at different points in time to visualize the changing nature of dynamic tables.

Continuous Group-Window Query

As before, the input table clicks is shown on the left. The query continuously computes results every hour and updates the result table. The clicks table contains four rows with timestamps (cTime) between 12:00:00 and 12:59:59. The query computes two results rows from this input (one for each user) and appends them to the result table. For the next window between 13:00:00 and 13:59:59, the clicks table contains three rows, which results in another two rows being appended to the result table. The result table is updated, as more rows are appended to clicks over time.

Update and Append Queries

Although the two example queries appear to be quite similar (both compute a grouped count aggregate), they differ in one important aspect:

  • The first query updates previously emitted results, i.e., the changelog stream that defines the result table contains INSERT and UPDATE changes.
  • The second query only appends to the result table, i.e., the changelog stream of the result table only consists of INSERT changes.

Whether a query produces an append-only table or an updated table has some implications:

  • Queries that produce update changes usually have to maintain more state (see the following section).
  • The conversion of an append-only table into a stream is different from the conversion of an updated table (see the Table to Stream Conversion section).

Query Restrictions

Many, but not all, semantically valid queries can be evaluated as continuous queries on streams. Some queries are too expensive to compute, either due to the size of state that they need to maintain or because computing updates is too expensive.

  • State Size: Continuous queries are evaluated on unbounded streams and are often supposed to run for weeks or months. Hence, the total amount of data that a continuous query processes can be very large. Queries that have to update previously emitted results need to maintain all emitted rows in order to be able to update them. For instance, the first example query needs to store the URL count for each user to be able to increase the count and sent out a new result when the input table receives a new row. If only registered users are tracked, the number of counts to maintain might not be too high. However, if non-registered users get a unique user name assigned, the number of counts to maintain would grow over time and might eventually cause the query to fail.
SELECT user, COUNT(url)
FROM clicks
GROUP BY user;
  • Computing Updates: Some queries require to recompute and update a large fraction of the emitted result rows even if only a single input record is added or updated. Clearly, such queries are not well suited to be executed as continuous queries. An example is the following query which computes for each user a RANK based on the time of the last click. As soon as the clicks table receives a new row, the lastAction of the user is updated and a new rank must be computed. However since two rows cannot have the same rank, all lower ranked rows need to be updated as well.
SELECT user, RANK() OVER (ORDER BY lastLogin)
FROM (
  SELECT user, MAX(cTime) AS lastAction FROM clicks GROUP BY user
);

The Query Configuration page discusses parameters to control the execution of continuous queries. Some parameters can be used to trade the size of maintained state for result accuracy.

Table to Stream Conversion

A dynamic table can be continuously modified by INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE changes just like a regular database table. It might be a table with a single row, which is constantly updated, an insert-only table without UPDATE and DELETE modifications, or anything in between.

When converting a dynamic table into a stream or writing it to an external system, these changes need to be encoded. Flink’s Table API and SQL support three ways to encode the changes of a dynamic table:

  • Append-only stream: A dynamic table that is only modified by INSERT changes can be converted into a stream by emitting the inserted rows.

  • Retract stream: A retract stream is a stream with two types of messages, add messages and retract messages. A dynamic table is converted into an retract stream by encoding an INSERT change as add message, a DELETE change as retract message, and an UPDATE change as a retract message for the updated (previous) row and an add message for the updating (new) row. The following figure visualizes the conversion of a dynamic table into a retract stream.

Dynamic tables



  • Upsert stream: An upsert stream is a stream with two types of messages, upsert messages and delete message. A dynamic table that is converted into an upsert stream requires a (possibly composite) unique key. A dynamic table with unique key is converted into a dynamic table by encoding INSERT and UPDATE changes as upsert message and DELETE changes as delete message. The stream consuming operator needs to be aware of the unique key attribute in order to apply messages correctly. The main difference to a retract stream is that UPDATE changes are encoded with a single message and hence more efficient. The following figure visualizes the conversion of a dynamic table into an upsert stream.
Dynamic tables



The API to convert a dynamic table into a DataStream is discussed on the Common Concepts page. Please note that only append and retract streams are supported when converting a dynamic table into a DataStream. The TableSink interface to emit a dynamic table to an external system are discussed on the TableSources and TableSinks page.

Back to top